Books · reviews

Review: Lord of Shadows

lord of shadowsLord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare
on May 23rd 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 701
Amazon // The Book Depository
Goodreads

5 star rating

Would you trade your soul mate for your soul?

A Shadowhunter’s life is bound by duty. Constrained by honor. The word of a Shadowhunter is a solemn pledge, and no vow is more sacred than the vow that binds parabatai, warrior partners—sworn to fight together, die together, but never to fall in love.

Emma Carstairs has learned that the love she shares with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, isn’t just forbidden—it could destroy them both. She knows she should run from Julian. But how can she when the Blackthorns are threatened by enemies on all sides?

Their only hope is the Black Volume of the Dead, a spell book of terrible power. Everyone wants it. Only the Blackthorns can find it. Spurred on by a dark bargain with the Seelie Queen, Emma; her best friend, Cristina; and Mark and Julian Blackthorn journey into the Courts of Faerie, where glittering revels hide bloody danger and no promise can be trusted. Meanwhile, rising tension between Shadowhunters and Downworlders has produced the Cohort, an extremist group of Shadowhunters dedicated to registering Downworlders and “unsuitable” Nephilim. They’ll do anything in their power to expose Julian’s secrets and take the Los Angeles Institute for their own.

When Downworlders turn against the Clave, a new threat rises in the form of the Lord of Shadows—the Unseelie King, who sends his greatest warriors to slaughter those with Blackthorn blood and seize the Black Volume. As dangers close in, Julian devises a risky scheme that depends on the cooperation of an unpredictable enemy. But success may come with a price he and Emma cannot even imagine, one that will bring with it a reckoning of blood that could have repercussions for everyone and everything they hold dear.”

I have no words to describe this book. As the years go by, my expectations for a new Shadowhunters book grow and grow, but somehow Cassie always manages to surpass them. Lord of Shadows was absolutely amazing and that ending. THAT. ENDING. *sobs quietly from a corner of the room* I still can’t believe we’ll have to wait for 2 years for the next book. I am dying here! Waiting! Forever!

I-Dont-Sleep-I-Wait

Anyway, it was such a good book. It made me laugh, cry, gasp, make strange and incoherent noises, and the last 10 pages made me stare in shock and grief at a blank wall for way longer than what is considered healthy. Cassie’s writing has come such a long way from City of Bones and this world continues to be one of my favorite fictional places to be in. If you’re still not sure about picking up The Shadowhunter Chronicles, this is your daily reminder to just do it. Trust me, it will be worth it (tears and weird screeches included).

LoS-insta

SPOILERS AHEAD. DO NOT READ ANY FURTHER IF YOU HAVEN’T READ LORD OF SHADOWS.

I know, I know. I don’t usually post any sort of spoilers, but I needed to get some things off my chest. This book has been torturing me ever since I finished reading it, and I honestly can’t wait for the next installment.

i want to be happy but i dont know how to anymore

With that being said, let’s jump straight into it (while trying to be as brief as possible):

  • Clary’s “I’m going to die soon” moment. What the actual hell? No way lady. Absolutely not going to happen. Just nope. This is too much and I wasn’t even 100 pages into this book.
  • Zara and her whole gang piss me off. so. much. What’s even worst is that it’s so easy to make a parallel between her crazy ideas and some real life politics. The fact that she will probably get her way for some part of the next book makes me so frustrated and angry.
  • Malcolm was back. Then he was not. I’m just glad he’s really gone now, but Arthur! *wails*
  • “I was baptized in blood and fire” a.k.a. Julian Blackthorn, my boy, being *the* ruthless boy. Honestly though, he’s the only one doing what needs to be done and people better leave him alone! He deserves happiness with Emma and his family and everyone is happy and together and why am I crying
  • Let’s not talk about the parabatai bond. And how –not- to break it. Because as much as I want Emma and Julian together, I love this bond and it’s such an important part of this world. Will & Jem, Alec & Jace. I can’t.
  • Christina is a precious cinnamon roll and my favorite character. Protect her at all cost. I don’t really care for Diego, Mark is hilarious (and I totally ship them) and her friendship (I think it’s a friendship? But sometimes it looks like it could be more? Who knows) with Kieran is so nice. So yeah, Christina is the best person in this book and the queen of everything. She’s so smart and kind and gentle and the best friend ever. GIVE HER ALL THE HAPPY THINGS.
  • Gwyn & Diana – totally unexpected but I loved it. Also, Diana’s secret was so well explained. I can’t relate to what she went through but I thought Cassie did a wonderful job at explaining her story. It moved me so much, and Gwyn’s reaction was perfect. Just give me more of this couple.crying under the table
  • Ty & Livvy & Kit – the best trio ever. Their dynamic was amazing, I ship Ty and Kit, every scene with them was super interesting and I’m not gonna talk about that ending because mY BABIES NOOO
  • Dru – I love how her weight and her struggles with it were handled, it felt so real to me. She’s so sweet and smart and reminded me of my own sister. I don’t fully trust Jamie yet, but we’ll see. I’m still not sure how I feel about him and Dry though.
  • Annabel creeps me out, and although I’m sorry for what she went through I’ll never trust her again because THAT ENDING WHAT WAS THAT
  • A quick mention to Malec being all super dads and The Ultimate Power Couple. And the entire world falling to pieces because Magnus wasn’t there and CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TAKE CARE OF HIM OMG IT STRESSED ME OUT SO MUCH THAT NO ONE SEEMED TO DO ANYTHING WHILE HE WAS LOOKING ALL EXHAUSTED AND WHATNOT
  • No one will convince me that the boy Dru saw wherever she went isn’t Sebastian’s evil baby. The hair. The eyes. It’s too much. Can it be 2018 already please?

That’s it for this review. I hope you enjoyed it (even if it was a bit – super – late) and if you have read this book, come talk to me in the comments! Let’s discuss crazy theories and suffer together until QoAD comes out.

Until next time,

juli

One thought on “Review: Lord of Shadows

Leave a Reply

