Books · Tags

Tag: Mid Year Book Freak Out

We’re already halfway through the year! Time has flown by and sadly I wasn’t able to read as many books as I hoped so far. However, I did read some fantastic books and I’m really excited to keep on reading (and picking up my pace) throughout the rest of the year.

I’ve been seeing quite a few of my favorite booktubers doing this tag and thought it would be nice to bring it to the blog. It’s a great way to evaluate your reading progress so far this year and motivate you to keep reading!

Tag created by Earl Grey Books & ReadLikeWildfire

1.Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

queens of geekI’ve just finished this book and it was sooo good! It was so cute and funny, the best way to get me out of the pit of despair that Lord of Shadows left me in.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

lord of shadowsAlthough it broke my heart and had the most shocking and upsetting ending ever, this book was fantastic. But really, when doesn’t a Cassandra Clare book ends up as one of my favorites of the year?

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

when dimple met rishiI’ve heard so many amazing things about this book! It looks like a lot of fun (and YAY for diversity).

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

because you love to hate meThis is an anthology of short stories about villains. It includes some of my favorite authors that were paired up with some of my favorite booktubers. How can it get any better than this?

5. Biggest disappointment.

acowarDon’t get me wrong, I liked this book. I just didn’t love it as much as I would’ve expected. ACOMAF is still my fave of this trilogy.

6. Biggest surprise.

the sun is also a starI didn’t expect to love this book as much as I did. It has diversity, it deals with important themes in a meaningful way and it made me so happy. Also, it’s packed with some incredibly beautiful and deep quotes.

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you)

nicola yoonI had never read a Nicola Yoon book before and so far this year I’ve read 2. I really like her writing style and the stories she has to tell. She has the ability to deal with deep themes in a light way without taking away any of their importance. I’ll definitely be keeping up with any of her new releases.

8. Newest fictional crush.

queens of geekJAMIE – I’ve been trying not to repeat a single book too many times for this tag but it’s really hard because THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING. Jamie is sweet, patient, funny, nerdy (in the best way possible) and so supportive and understanding. I love him. He had me swooning and laughing throughout this entire book. The world needs more Jamies (please).

9. Newest favorite character.

queens of geekTAYLOR – have I mentioned how much I love this book? Because I really do. Taylor is fantastic, and one of the reasons why I loved this book so much (there are many) is because it represented anxiety so well. There’s a certain power in discovering a character that gets you, and Taylor was that for me. She goes through some things that I go through, and she made it out alive and well and happy and that’s so hopeful.

10. Book that made you cry.

acowarACOWAR might have disappointed my a little bit, but it managed to make me cry at the end. I just never know with endings, anything could happen and I had no idea how Sarah would handle that. So at the end of the book some things happen, they caught be a bit off guard and I ended up crying. Not much, but still. Just give all the books that are set in this world please!

11. Book that made you happy.

queens of geekAfter all that I’ve talked about this book this was kind of expected, right? In case you still didn’t get it, this book is amazing and you should go read it right now. GO!

12. Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

wonder womanNot really a book to movie adaptation (more like comic to movie) but I’m choosing this one. If you are one of the few people who still haven’t watched this movie, you need to go do it right now. It was action-packed, funny, and also made me cry. An amazing movie for an amazing character.

13.Favourite review you’ve written this year.

wonder-woman-bannerNot a book review, because as it turns out I haven’t written that many book review this year (yet. I’m working on it). Still, I loved this movie so in this review I rant about how awesome it was, how as a cinema student it was so important to me and how I hope this will open the doors to a more inclusive Hollywood. It’s also packed with pretty gifs, so yeah.

14.Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

geminaI still haven’t read Illuminae (I’ve owned it for over a year and yes, I’m ashamed) but I had to get this book. It’s so pretty, and the format is so unique and creative. As it turns out I do have the habit of picking up sequels from books I haven’t read yet, so the TBR pile just keeps on growing.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Lots of books, but here are some at the top of my TBR pile.

 

How is your reading progress going? Any goals for the remaining of the year? If you would like to do this tag, consider yourself tagged! Let me know in the comments if you do, I’d love to see how your reading is going.

Until next time,

juli

Leave a Reply

