Books · reviews

Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin

acowarA Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
on May 2nd 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 699
Amazon // The Book Depository
Goodreads

4.5 star rating

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin.  I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.”

Main characters: as always, the inner circle is fantastic. We got more Nesta and Lucian (although I wish we had more time with him before he vanished again). Amren and Mor are always fantastic. The brotherhood between Rhys, Azriel and Cassian is so much fun and their banter had me smiling on more than a few occasions. Rhys and Feyre are as amazing as always together and I was glad beyond myself when they finally were reunited.

Side characters: Some new characters were introduced and some we’d heard about before made an appearance. I especially loved Helion. I hope we see more about him in the future (and his son as well please, it’d be even better if we could have them together in an actual conversation too). Finally getting to know all the High Lords was nice. The whole Drakon thing seemed a bit rushed but it didn’t bother me too much (unlike Feyre’s dad. What the hell was THAT?).

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Relationships: Feyre and Rhys are still my ultimate OTP. Getting to see Nesta and Cassian develop some sort of something was really interesting and I can’t wait to find out where they go from there. I still want more Lucien! However, what I liked the most was finally getting to understand Mor*. More on that at the end of the review!

Plot: this was an action packed book and I loved it. The pace was perfect and I never felt like it was getting too slow or dragging. The final battle lived up to all that pent up tension that had been building throughout the book. Some things definitely felt too rushed or came out of nowhere (the Archeron dad) and that’s the only “big” complaint I have about this book. Other than these few things that bothered me, the book was fantastic. I’m so happy that we have more books coming out that will take place in this fantastic world!

i want more

Cover: this entire series has been blessed with pretty covers, but I particularly love this third one. Feyre looks so fierce, and that dress! I love Charlie’s work and was so happy when I first saw it because I recognized it immediately.

*Although I loved getting to finally understand that Mor-Azriel situation, I didn’t think the way it happened was the best. I have no real experience in that matter, but this article explains all the representation issues and mistakes Sarah J. Maas made in this book. I highly suggest reading it.

I think that’s it. I’ve tried to keep it as short and spoiler-free as possible. Have you read this book yet? What did you think? Let’s discuss in the comments bellow!

Until next time,

juli

Leave a Reply

