Books · reviews

Review: How To Be A Bawse

how-to-be-a-bawse-pinterest

How To Be A Bawse by Lilly Singh
on March 28th 2017
Genres: Nonfiction, Self Help
Pages: 272
Amazon // The Book Depository
Goodreads
4.5 star rating

how to be a bawse“From actress, comedian, and YouTube sensation Lilly Singh (aka ||Superwoman||) comes the definitive guide to being a bawse—a person who exudes confidence, reaches goals, gets hurt efficiently, and smiles genuinely because they’ve fought through it all and made it out the other side.

Told in her hilarious, bold voice that’s inspired over nine million fans, and using stories from her own life to illustrate her message, Lilly proves that there are no shortcuts to success.

WARNING: This book does not include hopeful thoughts, lucky charms, and cute quotes. That’s because success, happiness, and everything else you want in life needs to be fought for—not wished for. In Lilly’s world, there are no escalators, only stairs. Get ready to climb.”

I only discovered iiSuperwomanii on YouTube earlier this year. Crazy, right? Apparently, she’s one of the most famous channels out there. I can’t remember exactly which one of her videos I watched first, but I found her very funny and subscribed to her channel. It turns out that she had published a book, and so I started searching for info about it. I expected a memoir or something like that, or maybe even a contemporary novel. Instead, I found this book.

From watching a few of her videos, I would’ve never guessed that Lilly struggled with depression. She’s one of the funniest, most uplifting people I’ve seen and yes, a total boss. I love seeing young people who already have their lives figured out, it gives me hope. A step-by-step book on how she did it (and how you can do it too) sounded like an interesting read.

This book was funny (I swear I could hear her lilly-singhvoice in my head while I read it) but also surprisingly deep. As I said, she struggles with depression and hit a very low point a few years back. I think she was very brave in sharing it with the rest of the world, and it definitely makes me look up at her regarding her mental health and how far she’s come despite it. It gives me hope that I’ll also be able to deal with my mental illness and be successful in whatever I decide to do (how do people even get their lives together at such a young age again?).

It wasn’t just entertaining and motivational, it came at the right time for me and some of her tips and advices were spot on regarding my life and where I am right now. I’ll be following some of her suggestions for sure (I never really saw the point in a vision board before but now I want one of my own) and I’ll keep some of her words close forever. Also, can we just talk about how pretty and colorful this book is? I read an ebook version of it, but I’m seriously considering buying the hardcover just because of all the pictures and graphics.

Are you a Lilly Singh fan? Have you read her book yet? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time,

juli

9 thoughts on “Review: How To Be A Bawse

    1. Her writing style is just like the way she talks, i could hear her voice in my head all the time while reading her book. It’s definitely a unique way to approach some deeper themes but I thought it worked very well. I’m glad you liked it 😊

      Like

    1. I just found her YouTube channel, maybe check some of her videos out and see if you like it. Her writing style feels very much like the way she talks but I feel like her book is definitely more deep than most of her videos 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Lilly is probably one of my favorite youtubers. I started watching her in 2013 and she really helped me conquer my own thoughts and challenges with depression and anxiety. Even though writing isn’t like her main title, she definitely inspires me to write more. Her writing style is incredibly engaging because she writes exactly how she talks. Although it’s easy to read, I try to savor it like a dessert. Thanks for doing a review on this! I love it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

