Books · reviews

Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies

under rose tainted skies

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall
on July 7th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mental Health, Mental Illness, Romance
Pages: 226
Amazon // The Book Depository
Goodreads
5 star rating

Agoraphobia confines Norah to the house she shares with her mother.

For her, the outside is sky glimpsed through glass, or a gauntlet to run between home and car. But a chance encounter on the doorstep changes everything: Luke, her new neighbour. Norah is determined to be the girl she thinks Luke deserves: a ‘normal’ girl, her skies unfiltered by the lens of mental illness. Instead, her love and bravery opens a window to unexpected truths …

An important and uplifting debut from a British author, which tackles mental health issues such as agoraphobia and OCD.

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetI honestly loved this book so much! As I previously mentioned, I struggle on a daily basis with agoraphobia and anxiety. As you can imagine, it’s not very pleasant to feel like I’m trapped inside my own head, and lately I’ve been making an effort to be more conscious and proactive about it. Among other things, I’ve been trying to read more books that deal with the subject of mental illness, and I can say that this book was the first time I felt well represented regarding my mental health. The way Nora describes her panic attacks and how anxiety affects her is the same exact way that I feel about it. It’s so nice to be able to see a part of myself – and not exactly a good one – reflected on a book in a realistic way.

This story was light-hearted and entertaining while also talking about serious issues. I empathized with Nora and was constantly rooting for her, I loved her relationship with her mom and Luke was a sweetheart.

I also really liked how the romance was dealt with. Luke was caring, curious, understanding and patient, but he wasn’t a magic cure. Yes, he made Nora want to get better, but he was more like a catalyst to it than a sudden miracle. Their interactions were awkward and sometimes uncomfortable, but to me that is a plus. In real life, I constantly find it hard to talk to people, especially about – or around – my mental illness, so I found that very reasonable. It would be so out of context if from day one they were smooth and flirtatious around each other.

All in all, this was one of the best reads of the year so far and I’m sure this book will be on my favorite books ever list for a long time.

Until next time,

juli

2 thoughts on “Review: Under Rose-Tainted Skies

    1. It’s definitely a slower book in terms of actions, it focuses more in the feelings of the main character and what she’s going through in her head. I found it very interesting because mental illness is a theme close to me, but maybe if you prefer a faster pace you should start with another book. What genres are you most interested in?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

