movies

My Thoughts: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Marvel did it again. This movie was full of stunning visuals, some heart wrenching moments and a fantastic soundtrack. And of course, the best of the best, little baby Groot. Although I really liked it, I had a few problems with it, which will be explained in more detail and completely spoiler-free in this review.

  • Pros

Stunning visuals: there’s no denying that Marvel knows how to make the most beautiful and realistic visual effects. Not only that, the colors and the scenery were beautiful and everything felt very natural, even if we’re talking about outer space and invented new planets.

visuals1

Fantastic soundtrack: this is a given in a GotG movie, right? My favorite was definitely Father and Son by Cat Stevens. I admit that I got a bit teary-eyed when it played.

Amazing acting: is this even a surprise? We have a very talented cast that proves once again that they know what they’re doing. Also, and I have no way to know if this is true, it looks like they have a lot of fun while doing it, and their chemistry shows. Special shout out to Karen Gillan for doing a spectacular job as Nebula.

nebula1

Relationships – and character – development: we focus more on characters and the relationships between them, and it’s beautiful. Family is a big thing in this movie and it was the strongest part of it in my opinion. The development of Nebula was amazing, and I really like how we spent more time with her. I particularly love the conversations between her and Gamora, it felt like a very real, complicated relationship between sisters. I don’t want to spoil anything, but ALL THE FEELS by the end of the movie.

yondu

Baby Groot: the cutest. Every time he showed up on the screen, the whole cinema “awww”ed. Can I have one please?

i am groott

  • Cons

Weak plot: don’t get me wrong, it was an entertaining movie, but I felt like there wasn’t much going on. The story was a bit predictive and it didn’t “wow” me as much by the end of it. I mean this action wise, because as I said earlier, emotional wise I was left heart-broken.

The same old villain (who wants to conquer the world yet again): it’s getting a little old always having to fight someone who wants to rule the galaxy. And I don’t mean just in GotG movies, but most of Marvel movies. There are more compelling motives out there to become a bad guy/girl!

Not my kind of humor: it was a funny movie, but through a good part of it, it was just not my type of funny. The humor was rather crude and very sexual-oriented. I prefer the witty banter and sassy comments from the first movie, but I still laughed at some lines and situations from this one.

funny

All in all, it was a good movie that definitely kept me entertained, and I’m still eagerly waiting for the next one. However, the first GotG is still my favorite.

What about you? Have you watched it yet or are you planning to? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments!

babygroot1

Until next time,

juli

Leave a Reply

