wrap up + favorites

April wrap up + favorites

And just like that it’s over. Another month, I mean. April was super busy for me, camp nanowrimo and uni left me with barely any free time which led me to read only one book.

  • Books I’ve read this month

under rose tainted skies

Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall – 5 stars

IMG_0242However, this book was one of the best books I’ve ever read. As someone who also struggles with agoraphobia and anxiety (and a tiny little bit of OCD), this book was the first time I felt well represented regarding my mental health. It was light-hearted and funny while also talking about serious issues. I empathized with Nora and was constantly rooting for her, I loved her relationship with her mom and Luke was a sweetheart. All in all, one of the best reads of the year so far (and I’m sure this book will be on my favorite books ever list for a long time). Expect a full review coming your way very soon (as soon as I have some free time to write it properly the way I want it to be).

  • Haul

IMG_0230No books this month! Although I did preorder some books that come out in May, so I’m not fully complying with my self-imposed book buying ban. On another note, I got my first succulent. Kind off. It’s actually a fake one because I’m terrified of forgetting to water it or something and it dying because of me, but it’s still very cute. It now keeps my (also fake) cactus company.

  • Favorites

ao3AO3: Fanfics are back in my life. I believe I’ve mentioned this before, but I had to say it again because the barely-there free time I had was mostly spent either reading fanfics (mostly Malec or ACOMAF related) or watching videos on YouTube.

christinePolandbananasbooks: Which brings us to Christine’s channel. I absolutely love her videos and find myself laughing out loud while watching them on multiple occasions, but this month I’ve been obsessed with her writing videos. I was trying to write during the entire month, and the most difficult part of that process for me is getting motivated to sit down and just write. Her videos helped me with that, and getting perspective on the whole process that goes way beyond just the first draft.

jasmine vlogsJasmine Rossol: She is she sweetest youtuber ever and her editing skills are on point. I love her aesthetic and her voice is so nice and soothing. I love her main channel videos, but lately I’ve been obsessed with her vlogs. I like to work with some noise on the background (music or some show that is randomly playing on the tv or even Netflix) and her vlogs are perfect to watch while I’m also doing other stuff. They are beautifully filmed and the one she did on Hawaii made me want to go there so badly! If you haven’t already, definitely go check her out.

one noteOne Note: I never actually used this program until this session of Camp Nano came around and now I’m in love with it. I was browsing around in the forums and saw someone saying that One Note was perfect for outlining and planning, so I decided to try it out. They were absolutely right, this program is wonderful for all of that and now I can have all my outline, world building and characters’ profiles in one place. Also, did I mention that it’s free?

pinterestPinterest: Everyone knows Pinterest is fantastic, it’s a given. I’ve been using it for a while now and have always loved it, but during this session of Camp I finally decided to do what a lot of writers do and create boards for my project. It worked so well that I now have boards dedicated specifically to inspiring me with world building, characters, magical creatures and even new story ideas. I’ll definitely be using it again for my next writing project.

That’s it for April. May is bound to be an even more frantic month, filled with uni projects, midterms and lots of exciting new book releases (ACOWAR and LoS anyone?), but I plan on also being more active here on the blog. Let’s hope I make it! Maybe the 100 days of productivity can help with that 😉

Until next time,

juli

Leave a Reply

