Books · top 7

Top 7: bookish OTPs

February is the month of love: there are hearts everywhere and couples looking smitten around every corner. In celebration of Valentine’s Day, I decided to make a list of my top 7 bookish OTPs and why they rule above every other couple (fictional or not).

  1. Will, Tessa & Jem (The Infernal Devices by Casandra Clare)

jem_will_tessa

A love triangle at number one? If you even consider that question, you’ve definitely never read The Infernal Devices. If that’s the case, immediately stop what you’re doing, go read it and then come back here so we can gush about it together. These 3 amazing characters have the most perfect relationship I’ve ever read about. They all love each other so much that they would do anything to ensure the others’ happiness, even at expense of their own. Their love is beautiful and heartbreaking, and it has forever ruined my little shipping heart. Which of course means that they are my favorite ship EVER.

  1. Feyre + Rhysand (A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas)

feysand-charlie

You probably didn’t read the first book in this series thinking that this was ever going to happen, but halfway through ACOMAF you can’t envision Feyre with anyone else. Feyre and Rhys are perfect together, they’ve both been through hell and survived and despite acknowledging the other’s flaws and insecurities, at the end of the day they still have an unshakeable faith in each other. Besides, Rhys is totally book boyfriend material.

  1. Percy + Annabeth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan)

percabeth

Does this couple even need any explaining? They’ve been through so much together, and all those years of friendship and trust made up the perfect foundation for one of the cutest relationships ever. Also, Percy was probably one of my first book boyfriends and will always have a special place in my heart (and in Annabeth’s because she’s very smart and obviously has made the best decision in the relationship department).

  1. Juliette + Warner (Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi)

warnett

This one is a bit controversial. I know a lot of people who loves Adam and despise Warner, but for me there was never really another option for Juliette. Granted, maybe I didn’t exactly love him in the first book, but he intrigued me enough to look forward for more time with him in the second book. Adam always got on my nerves and I found him very annoying. The more time Juliette and Warner spent together, the clearer it became they belonged together. He was always supportive and had so much faith in her, and she learned how to trust him and to trust herself and what she felt. The character development in this trilogy is phenomenal, and so is their relationship’s.

  1. Eleanor + Park (Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell)

eleanor-park

If you’ve never read a Rainbow Rowell novel you’re seriously missing out. She is my personal queen of romance, the cute and utterly adorable kind that is at the same time so realistic that it makes you giggle and sob. Personally, that’s my kind of romance, all fluffy and warm and giving me all the feels. This relationship though. It’s possibly the most accurate, real-feeling love story I’ve ever read. It’s beautiful and gripping and it makes you root for these kids despite knowing that life is constantly trying to keep them apart. It’s overall a wonderful experience.

  1. Alec + Magnus (The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare)

malec

Can you even read TMI without shipping them? The way their relationship evolves and develops throughout the books is beautiful and all the awkwardness and insecurities feels oddly relatable in a fantasy book. They’ve come so far in knowing and trusting each other, and where they are now is such an amazing place. I love every bit of information we get from their lives in other books such as Tales From Shadowhunter Academy (story #9 had me smiling and laughing and making inhuman noises) and Lady Midnight. Just give me all the malec.

  1. Cath + Levi (Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell)

fangirl

Here is Rainbow Rowell again! As previously explained, she writes romance beautifully, but this one has a special place in my fangirl heart (wink, wink). Cath is a fantastic character, and I feel many fangirls such as myself can relate to her. Which only makes her relationship with Levi that much more special. Levi is the dream boyfriend because he gets it, the fangirl life I mean. He’s patient and caring and he feels so real. If only I could find my own Levi walking down the hall.

Bonus! (because of course I couldn’t make up my mind and choose only 7 ships)

  1. Emma + Julian (The Dark Artifices by Cassandra Clare)

jemma

Cassie makes another appearance in this list. If you hadn’t noticed, she knows how to write the best relationships, filled with tension and lots of development. We’ve just met these 2 but I’m already so invested in their relationship. They are meant to be, and the Clave can fight me if they disagree. They are so young but have been through so much already, they better end up together or I’ll punch someone (probably an annoying representative from the Clave, because after reading Cassie’s books that’s all we want at one point or another). P.S.: “Why lie?” was the worst idea there ever was. Don’t, just don’t.

  1. Simon + Baz (Carry On by Rainbow Rowell)

simon-and-baz

Are you surprised? Because by this point you really shouldn’t be. This post is turning out to be way longer than anticipated, so I’ll be brief for this one: ALL. THE. CUTENESS. AND. FLUFFINESS. AND. FEELS. That’s basically it.

Trust me, this was supposed to be a short list. I don’t know what happened there, but I hoped you enjoyed it all the same. If I missed your favorite OTP, please let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

juli

Leave a Reply

