writing

NaNoWriMo Survival Kit

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing. On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30. Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought fleetingly about writing a novel.”   -via nanowrimo.org

I love this thread, it’s so interesting to see people’s essentials to get through coffeeNaNo. Here’s what I need:

  • A mug and lots of coffee
  • Some paper and colorful pens (I type for NaNo, but I find writing in real paper handy for when I’m having writers block or just want to doodle something related to my story. Also, I love stationery and any excuses to buy more notebooks are welcome)
  • My planner, to keep me on track and help me achieve that word count goal
  • My laptop, iPad and phone (for writing anywhere I go)
  • Flash Drive to back up my work (because you just know that even though it’s never happened before, your computer will probably decide to rebel during NaNo)
  • My earphones and a playlist planning
  • A bottle of water
  • Snacks (trail mix is the best)
  • A folder of useful resources on my computer
  • A binder with some notes and more resources that I find useful and that I’ve gathered throughout the years
  • A book (for when I need to take a break from writing)
  • A blanket to bundle up in and cozy socks
  • Also comfy writing clothes, because it’s hard to sit around for hours in jeans
  • Twitter (the sprints are amazing)cupcake
  • The NaNo forums for inspiration, procrastination and some socializing with fellow writers (who are usually the best kind of people in the world)
  • And have I mentioned food? Sweets? Snacks? Because they are all very important for writing and all that. Just saying.

What about you? What is the one thing you can’t go without during Nano?

happy-nanowrimo-last-banner

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Survival Kit

  1. I’m going to *try* and keep it simple. The biggest challenge for me is just finding time to write – especially as work is going to take me all over place during NaNoWriMo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

