movies

Movie Review: Finding Dory

I’ve been meaning to post this review since the moment the movie finished the first time I saw, last weekend. The thing is: uni is making my life impossible right now, but I’m back! Hopefully for longer than just a couple days, although that’s unlikely at the moment.

By now, I think most people have already watched Finding Dory. If you haven’t, go now! I loved Finding Nemo and have been waiting for this movie forever, right alongside Ellen. When I want to the watch it, there were only 2 children in the entire room. It was amazing seeing all those young adults (and quite a lot of older adults) there, as excited about this as I was. And let me tell you that the movie was so worth it. All the hype and expectations were met and surpassed.

Personally, I really enjoy kid’s movies. They are fun, adorable and have some very touching messages. Finding Dory was all that and so much more! We got reunited with some old characters and were introduced to some new ones. Destiny and Bailey are lovely, but the one who won my heart was grumpy Hank. And we can’t forget Becky (!) and those otters. The otters were the cutest and now I really want to see them hugging in real life.

Otter

Also, baby Dory is so adorable! If you don’t believe me go watch this clip and try not to melt with her cuteness overload.

baby dory

Although all that made me enjoy the movie, what really moved me were the messages. I’m talking about 2 messages that I found very important and that were amazingly portrayed. First, we have the family thing. I’m terrible at explaining it, especially because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who still haven’t watched it, but I think it’s very nice to let the kids know (and everyone else for that matter) that family is very important and it can come in all sizes and shapes. Your family is not only your own blood, it also includes those who you choose as your family, those special people who care and are there for you at all times.

But what bought me to tears (yes, I cried. That’s how relatable it was) was when Dory started to apologize for forgetting. Of course I don’t forget things like her, but what she goes through is what everyone with any kind of mental illness goes through. That’s what it meant for me. When she started to apologize for it, I saw myself in her. I suffer from anxiety and agoraphobia, and that means I have panic attacks from time to time. I feel awful not only because of it, but because I’m usually with someone else when it happens and it makes me feel guilty. Of course I know it’s not my fault, but my mind deceives me and it makes me believe something that is not real and I don’t do it on purpose but I still feel bad about it. I will apologize to anyone who was with me when it happened and I will feel bad because I most likely ruined their concert/party/shopping trip or whatever else we were doing. And then I saw that scene when Dory starts to say exactly what I feel and it hit me so hard. It was heartbreaking but also beautiful and I’m so grateful to Pixar and everyone involved for making a funny movie about mental illness. I’m sure not everyone sees it like that, but for me it is and it was beautiful. It showed that each person has their own battles and it’s ok. It’s not your fault and no one should blame you for something that is out of your control. And that’s what’s so important about your family: they will love you unconditionally.

perfect

After all this rant, what I wanted to say is that you should definitely check it out. It was not just a sequel to Finding Nemo, it was an amazing movie all on its own with adorable characters, funny moments and very relevant messages.

just keep swimming

If you have already watched it, what did you think? Please let me know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: Finding Dory

  1. OMG baby Dory is a-dory-ble! I will definitely be checking this one out, even when it probably won’t be as good as Finding Nemo. Just can’t beat the original. Great review, are you currently sharing your work on any other movie/tv platforms?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Really? Happy to hear that. Now I DEFINITELY have to check it out haha.

        Well, if you’re interested, I’d love to help you get your writing seen on Moviepilot/Creators. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail if you’d like me to expand on that. I’d love to hear from you. You can find my details on my blog.

        Like

Leave a Reply

