movies

Movie Review: Captain America – Civil War

This movie is finally out everywhere (I think)! I actually watched it last week but I was waiting until today to post my review as not to ruin it for spoilery reasons. No, I won’t go into what happened in detail, but I do have a lot of gifs that I found around the web (mostly google and tumblr) and that I’m dying to use.

Ok, first things first: this movie broke me to pieces! I love both Steve and Tony so much and it killed me having to watch as they were fighting (and involving even more people I care about). This was literally me the entire movie:

me

One of the things I loved most about this movie (and honestly, I loved every single second of it) was the participation of some new or not-so-famous characters. I’ll be talking about the new ones in just a second (you can probably guess who I’m talking about), but first I would like to mention Ant-man! He definitely doesn’t get all the love he deserves and I’m really hoping that after Civil War people will start talking more about him.

hi im scott

He’s hilarious, without his help I’m not so sure that big fight would have gone that well (that’s depending on how you take the final results, of course) and it would have been a lot tenser. Because honestly, one of the reasons I liked that scene so much was the whole lot of humor on it even thought it was a serious and rather intense moment. And of course, Scott is THE biggest Captain America fanboy. He’s basically all of us if we ever got to meet Steve.

ant-man-captain-americaantman is me

Now, onto the Black Panther. I don’t even know where to start. Everything about T’challa was amazing, but perhaps the most fantastic thing about him was the casting. Chadwick Boseman was the perfect Black Panther. His acting was on point, and along with the character’s development, made the movie that more interesting. When he decided to be the better man and do the right thing even if he was still hurting made me love him so much! Another one for my (gigantic) list of favorite characters. I cannot wait for the Black Panther movie now!

SPIDER-MAN! First of all I would like to say that I was not overly enthusiastic about Tom Holland being the new Spider-man. I don’t know why, maybe it’s just because they keep changing the actors and I was not so sure about how well he would portrait Peter Parker (who guess what? Is also on that very large list of favorite characters). Well, I’m glad to say my fears were completely unnecessary. From the moment he first appeared on the screen I loved him. I don’t think I ever fell in love so fast with any other Spider-man. He’s awkward and overly-excited about everything and, just like Scott, the biggest fanboy ever. I loved it. I love everything about him. Tom’s acting is fantastic and the way he handles all the hype surrounding Peter’s appearance in this movie is amazing. Totally lived up to the hype and expectations, at least in my opinion. I was not very happy about yet another Spider-man movie, but now I’m so excited! I can’t wait to see Tom playing Peter Parker again.

spider manspider-man

Bucky, my sweet and precious baby. Even if the big fight between Cap and Iron Man weren’t just about him, he was definitely a big part of it. I would even say that if it wasn’t because of him there wouldn’t even have been that big of a fight. Maybe just a few heated arguments here and there.

I don’t want to spoil anyone, which is why I’m not really going into detail here, but the thing is that I have loved Bucky ever since the first Captain America movie (and I’ve loved Sebastian Stan since I first saw him in OUAT) and I feel like everyone is so unfair with him (except Steve, that is)! I mean, yes he did some bad things, but can you really blame him when he didn’t have control of his own mind or his actions? In this movie we get to see how easy it can be to control him, and it makes me so sad that no one seems to care that while he was doing all those terrible things he didn’t have any choice. So yeah, I’m #TeamBucky all the way. I felt like punching everyone on the face when they repeatedly tried to kill Bucky.

lol
I saw this gif and I thought it was hilarious and so accurate

But can you really look into this beautiful face and tell me you don’t have the sudden urge to protect him from all the evil and injustice in this world? Because that’s a thing, at least for me. And Sebastian Stan is the perfect Bucky. I honestly cannot picture anyone else playing this character (it does seem like Marvel can do no wrong with the castings lately).

sebastian stan

We’re talking teams now. As I said in the beginning of this post, I love both Tony and Steve. You cannot ask me to choose one or the other because I can’t do that, it’s just not possible. So when the movie started I didn’t have a team, I was just going with it. All I really wanted was for my babies to be alright and I was praying that whatever happened the damage wouldn’t be too bad (like people saying Steve was going to die. It almost killed me, I was like whaaat? No way. Please?). Turns out that this movie, as expected, broke my heart. The worst part was this scene (and the only reason I’m showing you this is because it was in the trailer so it’s not really a spoiler):

hes my friendso was i

Look at Tony’s face! Look at Bucky’s face! Look at Steve’s face! They are all so heartbroken and neither of them really wants to keep fighting but they have no choice and it makes me wanna cry. The bromances between these characters (and all Marvel’s characters to be honest) are some of my favorite things ever and you could practically hear my poor fangirl heart falling to pieces when this happened. Actually, that whole scene (including what comes after this line) was terrible and I didn’t know what to do. I just wanted it to be over and for them to work things out and go back to being friends and joking around.

it was never about good or evil

With all that being said, when I walked out of the movie I did have a team. When it came down to it, it wasn’t about good or evil, but about making the best choice you can while thinking about everyone else. Not just your own conscience, but about freedom and friendships and humanity and what’s best for the world. We are human, we make mistakes. Can we really put a government above our free will and our ability to choose between what’s wrong or right, what’s the best for us or for the world? Besides, I didn’t like the fact that everyone was constantly trying to kill Bucky without even hearing him out, so…

team cap

All in all, this move was absolutely amazing and so much more than what I expected!

its a dream come true

If you haven’t watched it yet, what are you waiting for? Go! It’s action packed, filled with awesome characters and the famous Marvel humor is everywhere. Definitely one of the best movies of the year!

 

This post turned out a lot longer than what I had planned. Sorry about that, but when I fangirl I fangirl A LOT. Anyway, if you’ve watched the movie already, what did you think? Did you enjoy it as much as I did? Team Cap, Team Iron Man, Team Bucky, Team Black Panther or any other team? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

