Books · The Cover Trials

The Cover Trials: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

TCT lady midnight header

Today I would like to introduce The Cover Trials, a new series that I’ll be starting on the blog. What is it about? Well, by the name you’ve probably guessed that it has something to do with book covers, and you’re right!

This series will be about analyzing and judging a book cover. You know when people say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover? Of course they’re right, but I totally do judge covers and sometimes I even buy a book just because I like the cover. Ever heard of cover buys, anyone? I’m also willing to bet I’m not the only one who does that 😉

Lady Midnight. One of my most anticipated books of the year and one of the best books I’ve read this year, if not THE best. Of course, it also has a gorgeous cover.

TCT photo 1

I don’t even know where to start. Probably with the colors? I love blue books and this one is sooo pretty! Every time sunlight hits my shelves I can catch a different hue of blue from this book and it’s magical. It makes me so happy!

TCT photo 2

The font! It’s the shadowhunters novel’s font but prettier? I don’t know, maybe it’s the color, but I really like it. Also, the colors also help because you can’t go wrong with silver and gold (and more blue).

tct photo 3

The image! Emma’s drawing/photo is fantastic! So intriguing and it definitely catches your interest. Also, she’s drowning. Kind off. When I first saw the cover it made me incredibly anxious because I already really liked her character (mostly because of CoHF) but it’s also very beautiful. Specially now that I know that she’s alive (this is not too spoilery right? It’s a given. I mean, The Dark Artifices is a trilogy and this was just the first book).

TCT photo 4

The book is also breath-taking without the dust jacket. Have I mentioned that I really like the color blue?

TCT photo 5

Since I have a first edition, it came with an exclusive stamp and it’s BEAUTIFUL. I love the sword and it has Cassie’s signature! I haven’t – and probably never will- meet her so this is as close as I can get to have a book signed by her.

 

If you couldn’t tell, I love this book and this cover. It’s beautiful and matches the story perfectly. I cannot wait to have the second book in this series!

Leave a Reply

