Books

Review: Breaking Him, by R. K. Lilley

breaking him

Title: Breaking Him

Author: R. K. Lilley

Pages: 338

Published: October 3rd 2015

Rating: 3.5/5

 

Synopsis

Scarlett had always dreamed big. She was headed straight for Hollywood. Destined for silver screen greatness.

But in her wildest dreams she never imagined she’d be broke and single at twenty-eight, doling drinks at thirty-five thousand feet.

She was a glorified waitress in the skies.

It had been years since she’d seen him.

But one day, there he sat, gazing intently at her, ready to set everything ablaze once more.

Dante wanted her. Again.

Sure, she’d play along…but this time, it was his turn.

She was breaking him.

After all, love is war.

 

 

Photo 17-11-15 14 37 41My thoughts

This was a very interesting book. The characters were all so flawed, so broken, that I couldn’t not like them. Even when they were being mean, secretive or manipulating others, I ended up hoping for the best. That somehow everything would work out. It kept me on the edge of my seat until the very end, and then some. We’ll get to that later.

Scarlett and Dante are lovely names. Honestly, that and that pretty cover were what convinced me to read the book. I’m glad I did too. This month, and specially this week, has been hectic and it was nice to pick up a nice, easy and fast book to relax for a bit.

Their relationship is anything but easy. They have history, a lot of it, and they’ve hurt each other so much already. The event that brought them back together is very sad (I might have teared up a bit, but that’s mainly because of personal reasons. It’s just so sad guys) but granted them a chance to try again. And by that I mean try to be civilized towards each other (as I said, very difficult relationship.). Both of them have quite the character and their fights are epic, and by that I mean that they could tear each other’s head off or something. Like, very aggressive, in-your-face kind of fights. Even if I don’t particularly like that, I did like them a lot. In those flashbacks, when we got to see how their childhood went, we can see what made them become who they are today and gives them some depth. I really liked that, it made me understand better why Scarlett is so angry all the time.

There is a lot of drama. It is a second chance romance, and I feel like there is so much that we still don’t know, so many secrets and so much that happened in their past. Of course, I already have my theories, but I’ll have to wait until the next book to find out if I am right or not (I hope I’m wrong because what I have in mind is too awful and no one should have to go through that)

And that ending! Oh my God what was that? You can’t just leave me hanging there, my imagination is way too hyperactive and now I keep thinking what could have happened and I’m not liking where it’s taking me.

Overall it was a nice book and I really enjoyed it. It was fast paced and I read it in one sitting. The secondary characters are really interesting as well, I love all of Scarlett’s friends. If you like second chances romance and lots of drama, then this is your book. Even though I must say that it is intended for mature readers as it contains quite some steamy scenes. If you like that then go ahead, this book will not disappoint!

 

I hope it was a decent review. I didn’t mean for it to be very long, but hopefully I managed to say enough to explain a little of what I felt when reading the book without actually giving too much away. Please let me know what you think about it!

Leave a Reply

